James Shaw


Nottingham, England

Date of birth

13 June 1996



James loves the places that his bike has taken him, the people he has met because of cycling, and the life lessons he’s learned through the sport. But what does he love most about cycling? Racing.

While James has achieved strong results as a GC rider, especially in 2021 at the Tour of Slovenia and the Tour of Norway, his favorite races are the Ardennes Classics. He is also a keen student of cycling history and finds pride and motivation in thinking about the riders who have come before him. James finished his first grand tour at the 2022 Vuelta and is excited for more.

Through the year, he lives in England’s Peak District. When he is home, James resets by taking his dogs for long walks on the moors and riding with old clubmates. His racing and training schedule is very busy, but whenever he has time, James hitches a trailer to his bike and goes bike packing.

Question & answer

What's your first cycling memory?

As a kid I would go once a week to the youth section of Heanor Clarion Cycling Club where I'd meet other local kids and we'd be guided round the local bridleways by the club coach.

What's your favorite place to ride your bike?

Anywhere and everywhere. As long as its on two wheels

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?


What's your favorite band or artist?

Miles Kane. Massively under-rated if you ask me

Coffee or tea?

Tea, being British always had to be tea. Bag goes in the cup. Water goes on. Leave to brew. Remove bag and add milk to desire

Featured in

Other riders